The Train Has Left the Station…

…and it is starting to ZOOM! I cannot believe everything that we are working on. I am counting and analyzing data left and right. As I am counting data, I am also waiting for more data to arrive! And all the meanwhile I am trying to begin writing an article (YIKES)!

There are a lot of things that I am participating in that are really interesting. I am now scheduled to present to the Passport Advisory Committee, a representative group of students and faculty that will help with decision making for the Passport Program. I’d say since I am helping to evaluate the program, they might want to hear what I have found?

Overall my experience as a Research Rookie has been phenomenal. I really enjoy everyone that I am working with and I feel that I am playing a key role in making this research happen (since Passport is a required program for business students, this research had to be done eventually…) I’d say the most rewarding part of the process would have to be working with Beth Towell and all the fun that comes with working with her. She has done a really good job at including me in every facet of the project, which I really appreciate. I am attending all kinds of meetings and getting a lot of experience in the world of academia.

Here is a picture Dr. Towell and I in her office. We are obviously discussing some very serious matters 🙂 We were also pretty excited that our picture made it onto the cover of the Research Rookies Reception pamphlet!

Displaying DSCN6825.JPG

The research I do comes with a few challenges, the biggest being that I am very busy! It can be hard to make time for everything I do. I am the type of person that likes to do everything to the highest level of quality!! But rest assured my research is top notch!!

This experience feels very different than what I did for the McKearn program. First of all, it is a lot longer of a process. Research Rookies runs for the entire academic year, while McKearn was just 8 weeks! Also, I feel like I am really stepping it up for this project! I have a lot more responsibility and purpose, which I really enjoy.

Speaking of responsibility… I have some BIG NEWS to share:
I have just been hired as a student employee for OSEEL (Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning)! I am very excited to be working there, and hope that my work will have a lasting impact on students. I am so thrilled to be a part of such a fantastic team.

If YOU would like to learn more about OSEEL, click the ENGAGE below to visit the OSEEL homepage! You would be amazed at all the things this office does!!

Leave a comment